GETTING YOUR FIRST DUI

SACRAMENTO DUI ATTORNEY

Sacramento DUI Attorney

YOUR FIRST DUI CHARGE

DUI arrests continue to increase in frequency across the US as a whole and particularly in the state of California. With the increase in arrests, state and local governments have continued to increase the severity of punishments and a conviction will cost the average defendant in ways they may have never imagined. Aside from the serious government imposed penalties, DUI arrests place the accused under immense stress and can cause individuals to lose their jobs, standing in the community, and stability at home. Understanding your unique situation is critical to obtaining a favorable outcome, and based on the charges and your background, there are different sections of the California Vehicle Code that will apply.

Driving under the influence is a serious crime with some harsh penalties. Contact a Sacramento DUI attorney for consultation immediately.

Over 200,000 drivers are arrested each year for driving under the influence in California alone and the administrative penalties vary. Before you can be sentenced of drunk driving though, the prosecution must establish three things.

  1. The first is that the officer who arrested you must have had probable cause to stop you, like speeding or running a red light for example.
  2. Second, you must have violated California’s DUI laws by driving with an illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or refused to perform a chemical test.
  3. Lastly, the arrest must have been lawful. If all three of these are not met, the charges against you should be dismissed.

Sacramento DUI Attorney Will Defense Your DUI

Individuals charged with their first DUI often make the mistake of underestimating the severity of the situation they are in, and the importance of a swift and targeted response. Your options and possible corrective actions vary greatly depending on a multitude of key factors involving the circumstances of your arrest and applicable criminal history.

Penalties for a first time DUI can vary greatly, and these variances highlight the importance of proper representation!

  • Minimum of two days in county jail with a maximum of six months
  • Fine between $390 and $1,000 – depending on the county in which you are convicted, the amount you ultimately pay will typically triple when penalties and court assessments are included
  • Suspension of Driver’s License for at least six months and up to four years
  • Participation in an educational program for at least 3 months
  • As of July 1, 2010, four counties in California (Sacramento, Los Angeles, Alameda, and Tulare) require anyone convicted of DUI to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle

Additional restrictions and penalties can be imposed based on the unique attributes of your arrest. Your BAC at the time of arrest, passengers present, vehicle speed, and whether there were injuries and/or property damage are all important factors that will impact your case.

The best thing you can do if you are arrested for a DUI is hiring a DUI attorney who could help you in knowing what to expect and guide you through the process. A first offense can result in a variety of consequences: your license will be suspended for at least one year, you’ll be fined fees between $1,500 and $2,000 and required to spend two days in jail. You’ll also be required to attend an alcohol-awareness course that may take several months to complete.

Furthermore, you’ll be sentenced to between three to five years of probation. There are even further complications after your license is reinstated. The cost of your car insurance may double or even triple and even after just one DUI conviction, the average California driver will see their premiums increase by an average of $2,500 per year. Even worse, your crime will show up on employer-conducted background checks for 10 years or longer.

Proving a California DUI case can be a challenge for the prosecution because if there are mistakes that can be shown by the arresting officers at any point during your DUI arrest, you have noteworthy increased chances of winning the case. If the police officers make an important error in their police report or while collecting breath and field sobriety test evidence, a skilled Sacramento DUI lawyer will discuss options and defense strategies with you.

The Law Offices of Alin Cintean provides exceptional criminal defense service in Sacramento. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional criminal defense services to any Californian who needs it. We appreciate your desire to understand what is happening in your case, and we work exhaustively on your behalf. Our criminal defense counsel is available nearly 24/7 to answer your questions. Contact us online or by telephone at (916) 441-3500.

CONTACT A SACRAMENTO DEFENSE LAWYER AT OUR LAW FIRM

The Law Offices of Alin Cintean offers comprehensive criminal defense from the beginning of your case through the final appeal. Let our criminal lawyer in Sacramento defend your rights. Contact us online or by telephone at (916) 441-3500 to arrange a personal consultation with Alin Cintean today.

555 Capitol Mall, Suite 755
Sacramento, CA 95814 US
Phone: (916) 441-3500

The information contained in this Website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject matter. No recipients of content from this site, clients or otherwise, should act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content included in the site without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional advice on the particular facts and circumstances at issue from an attorney licensed in the recipient’s state. The content of this Website contains general information and may not reflect current legal developments, verdicts or settlements. The Firm expressly disclaims all liability in respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all the contents of this Website.